Reclaim your human birthright: Take off on foot, and quickly

I’m trying hard not to write a “you know you’re a runner if” post here. All kinds of goofy things would come of it, usually things about how many showers a day you take, how many pairs of shoes you go though a year, how much Lulu Lemon stuff is in your closet or how much you’re addicted to Gu.

You know, all that geeky runner crap that sounds cute in passing, but makes for pretty bad prose.

But a couple of things got me thinking about this subject.

A few months ago, a friend of mine had called me up wanting to grab some lunch. Trouble is, my car was dead on its axles. This wasn’t a problem, because at the time I could walk or bike to work. But that wasn’t in the cards here. A walk to our chosen restaurant would have taken about an hour.

So I ran it. Twenty minutes, I was there. It was cool outside and it wasn’t a long run, so I showed up looking no worse for the wear.

I thought that was kinda cool. Burned off some calories right before chowing down with my friend.

Several months later, I was on a business trip in Wisconsin. On this trip, the company sponsoring the week-long event had pre-planned after hours get-togethers in which bottomless alcohol was served. To help people out, the company provided shuttles from the venue to the various hotels where people were staying.

An excellent idea. Great hosts taking care of people so no one gets in trouble or hurt.

Those shuttles stopped at some point, and I missed mine. My hotel wasn’t far, so I decided to hoof it.

But I got impatient with the slowness of the walk. I wanted to get to bed. So I ran it in.

It wasn’t far, and it was a cool evening so I didn’t trot in sopping wet or anything. But it got me there quickly, which got me to bed. Mission accomplished.

Now I know what you’re thinking. “He’s gonna say ‘you know you’re a real runner when run everywhere you go.’ Lame.”

I don’t run everywhere I go. Sometimes I walk. A lot of times, I drive my car.

But it’s nice to know that I have the option to set out on foot to get somewhere, and pick up the pace to get there more quickly.

The best thing about this, however, is it is not limited to “runners.” It’s for everyone.

Contrary to what some doctors might tell you, we are made to run. The design of our cardiovascular and respiratory systems, our muscles, our feet, even all the ligaments in our bodies, from head to toes, are made for running.

You may think otherwise, but that doesn’t make it so. We all have this God-given design to speed up from a walk to a run, and to do it for long distances over lengthy periods of time.

If we can shed some of the modern junk that quite literally weighs us down, dig deep into our primordial roots and stretch out our strides, we might realize an interesting truth.

Want to know if you’re a runner?

Can you breathe?

Can you walk?

Yes? Then you are, indeed, a runner.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

Leave a Reply

