What the DVR is for: Having your cake and eating it, too

There were plenty of games on TV this weekend. Some big-time matchups. It’s safe to say there were a lot of other distractions to keep me from doing something more profitable. I had a rare Saturday off, but not a lot going on to fill it. It was a perfect recipe for a wasted day.

No sense in doing that!

So I pried myself away from the couch, laced up the shoes and geared up for a quick run. I’m glad I did.

I’ve often found that interesting things happen when I go outside. The exercise is reward enough, as are the post-workout endorphins that surge through your body and lift your spirits. But it’s often the other things that make it more memorable.

As it turns out, there was a parade going on in the city that night. I didn’t run through or by a parade, but I did get to see preparations that were going on as floats were pulled into position, cops blocked off intersections, TV crews set up for live shots and families staked out prime places to watch.

Later, I trotted past a pretty cool setup where an outdoor ice rink was filled with people. On a nearby stage, a choir soothingly performed a few Christmas favorites for the growing crowd.

For about 40 minutes, I got to enjoy a pretty cool slideshow of activity I could easily have missed.

I’m glad I went out, if for no other reason than to get in a quick workout and see something new going on. It’s almost like I got to participate in the fun everyone else was having while doing my own thing at the same time.

The games and TV programs could wait. Technology has given us the DVR. After the daylight had passed, the programs were still fresh to me, as were the memories of the things I saw on a cool December afternoon.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

Leave a Reply

