Welcome back to the run, dude!

Spontaneous post alert.

Last week wasn’t the best week for me. Along with the normal trials of life that I won’t get into here, I got sick.

Really sick.

After what was a mildly epic weekend (seeing a friend’s daughter get married; a run in my old hometown; a really great jiu-jitsu workout; playing cards with friends; watching the fights that night; and some fun hiking, bushwhacking and climbing with an old friend), I got in one workout before a bug befell me. It started mild, then turned up the heat and kicked my butt. Big time. Suddenly the wildly active weekend warrior was down for the count.

I still had to go to work and all that, but workouts and running were out for a week. I needed the rest, but went stir crazy. While I nursed myself back to health the Oklahoma spring manifested itself beautifully. It killed me to be laid up inside while the parks and trails were filled with fellow outdoor enthusiasts.

I read all your Facebook posts, blog entries and tweets about how awesome your runs and rides were last week, and I hated you for it. Sorry ’bout that.

Anyway, I was finally well enough to work out yesterday, and improved enough to go run tonight.

Needless to say, my endurance took a hit. But that’s OK and to be expected. But it was nice to get out there again. To hear my footfalls and hear my breath, both creating that wonderful harmony of rhythm that is played in the crucible of exertion. Man, I missed that.

And then there were the sights. The thought of finally getting back to running had me consider a group trail run on the south side of town, or perhaps a nice long cruiser at Riverside Park.

Nah. What I needed was to run through the city, to see the sights of urban Tulsa that I’d missed for too many days since falling ill.

I love cruising past the city’s entertainment districts, watching groups of friends and couples heading to the restaurants and pubs to blow off a little midweek steam. Truth is, I was doing the same thing, just in a different way.

The buildings under construction have made some progress. Two projects in different parts of the city have grown a floor since I last ran past them. Progress!

And lest I forget, the weather was incredible. The temps were mild, and a nice breeze was blowing in from the south. High clouds muted the sun, giving the skies a nice muted hue of the approaching dusk.

The run was brief, followed by a cool-down on the elliptical back at the gym. But man, it was great. It was great to be back from my week-long, disease-induced hibernation.

And it’s nice to being back to piling up the miles outside.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

2 thoughts on “Welcome back to the run, dude!

  1. I am sorry to hear you have been sick! I got a bug this season that lasted well over a month and really took a toll on my body and my endurance as well. But… we have to get back on the trails… it is that internal itch, that drive, that moves us ever forward! I am glad to hear you are doing better. The endurance will come back…. always does in the end.
    Wishing you the best of health.
    Heidi

  2. Thanks, Heidi! Yeah, it kicked my butt and the endurance hit was pretty significant. Did a 5K over the weekend and I was surprisingly slow. But I still had a good time, and I’m sure I’ll bounce back OK.

    You hit it on the head: There is a drive to get back out there, get moving and soak it in. So I’ll be doing that tonight after my evening weight session. Train up!

Leave a Reply

