Twin Rock Mountain, photographically revisited

A few weeks back, I posted a trip report about a day trip me and a good friend of mine made to southwestern Oklahoma’s Wichita Mountains to knock off Twin Rock Mountain and Granite Mountain. I loaded that report up with photos I took with an iPhone3S, meaning that there were limitations as to how good those pics would be.

Enter my friend Johnny Hunter. He’s one of the best hiking and climbing buddies you could ask for. He also takes a real camera with him, he knows how to use it and he comes back with great pics.

As much as I liked the report, I think the trip deserves a better photographic treatment so you can get an idea how rugged and beautiful the Wichitas can be. So that’s that this post is all about — a tribute to Johnny’s photographic skills.

Zooming in, the landmark Crab Eyes formation just gets swallowed by the surroundings of the Charon’s Garden Wilderness Area.

Here’s a rugged panorama of the northeastern side of Charon’s Garden’s peaks, with Elk Mountain and Mount Lincoln in view. A hiker’s and climber’s paradise.

Just under the clouds are the summits of the Wichitas. Here, Johnny gets a moody shot of Granite Mountain from the summit of Twin Rock Mountain. Beyond is the vastness of the southern plains.

This image seems to capture the pain of what it’s like to live atop the Wichitas’ wind-scoured peaks.

The common saying is that a picture is worth a thousand words. I don’t think I’ll ever get Johnny to write a guest post for me, but I’m glad he lets me use his photos. There’s more than one way to tell a story.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

Leave a Reply

