Hey man, you need a couple of bucks?

Another random post…

Summer temps have come a little early to my city, but we got a reprieve this week for some reason. Thank you, God. I’m not ready for triple-digit heat yet.

Invariably, when the temperatures rise my running distances suffer. Just one reason why I don’t look forward to the 100s, and why the other night’s 60-degree readings and overcast skies made for such a good time.

Running on the city streets is almost always an interesting affair, mostly because of what I see. With no headphones, I also hear things that you might not ordinarily experience in a suburb or within the insulated confines of a car.

Every now and then I run into trains. If I don’t beat the train across Elgin Avenue, I either have to wait for it to pass or change my route, find a bridge and go on over.

But there’s one place where the road goes under the tracks, and I met that same train just as it was crossing my path from above. The horns, the crossing bells and the rumble of tons and tons of mechanical might is a pretty cool thing. It’s amazing a concrete and steel bridge can hold it up. At least, that was my thought when I ran under it.

I felt surprisingly strong, despite the presence of Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness from a leg workout earlier in the week. So I tacked on another half mile, and circled back to my starting point.

My run over, I started walking back to the gym where it started to get my stuff. There were a couple of homeless dudes standing around talking. One of them turned to me, smiled, and said, “Hey buddy, you all right?”

“Yep, just tired,” I told him.

“You need a dollar? You need two dollars?” he asked.

“No, I’m good.”‘

How about that? A homeless dude asked me if I needed a couple of bucks. I couldn’t quite figure out if he was trying to be ironic or just crazy.

Just a typical day running the city streets.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

Leave a Reply

