Today is National Running Day. What are you doing about it?

Today is a lot of things, most memorably, it’s the 68th anniversary of D-Day, when the Allies stormed the beaches of Normandy during World War II.

On a less serious note, it’s also National Running Day.

I’ll be honest, I’m beat. I’ve been hitting the road and trail pretty hard over the last several days so my legs are pretty trashed at the moment. But I may pound out an honorary mile just because.

I’m hoping more of you will tackle this day with a bit more style than me today. So here’s the question: What did you do/are you going to do for National Running Day? Why do you run? Feel free to tell me about it here. I’d like to hear what’s going on out there with any readers who are also runners.

So go on. Get out there and crush it, then tell me about it.

Bob Doucette

On Twitter @RMHigh7088

2 thoughts on “Today is National Running Day. What are you doing about it?

  1. Thanks for the reminder regarding National Running Day.

    I will be going out for about a five mile run at a local park this evening after work. There is a new mountain bike trail that serpentines through the woods and ravine that I enjoy running. I go the opposite direct of the bikers and stay sharp to step off the trail when needed, but I usually encountered only two or three bikers during the 50 minute run.

    I am running for various reason: physical, emotional and spiritual. One reason is to be ready for a four-five day backpack in Colorado this summer. Another is to deal with stress from work or home. A third is that I enjoy running with my running buddies on Saturday morning. Finally, I signed up for Twin Cities Marathon in October and enjoy the challenge of preparing for it.

    Thanks for writing/asking about running.

    • Man, I asked someone to bring it, and you brought it! Sounds like you will have a very good run at a great place, and your running habit is satisfying real goals as well as aethetic needs in your life. Keep it up, and good luck in your marathon prep!

Leave a Reply

