Proof that my friends are pretty rad: Mountaineering in China

Just in case I needed a reminder, I have some pretty rad friends. A couple of them live in China. And a couple more are visiting them.

The fellas decided to go on a little outing, up the slopes of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. The mountain stands more than 18300 feet above sea level, and hasn’t been climbed since 1987, when an American team saw the top.

My friends, Johnny and Ben (I’ve climbed more than a few peaks with these guys), got to about 15,000 feet before high winds and cold turned them back.

rad1

Around that point, this was the view as conditions began to deteriorate.

rad2

No successful summit, but one heck of an adventure, and in an amazing part of the world. I think about China quite a bit: the parts that I’ve seen, the many more that I have yet to see, and the people I know who live and work there.

Maybe one of these days I’ll get to go back and see this scene of glaciated awesomeness for myself. More certain is that someday soon I’ll get to hear more details about this trip, and all that these guys experienced.

In the meantime, I’ll make do with finding adventure a little closer to home and find some inspiration in what my buddies did. Hopefully, you will too. Have a great week everyone!

Bob Doucette

 

 

Leave a Reply

